A port with a glorious past struggles to preserve its future – impressions of an urban excursion to Liverpool

In the 19th century Liverpool was the trade metropolis of the world. In its heyday 40% of the world’s trade was conducted here. The middle of the 20th Century saw the start of the economic and also urban decline of the once proud trade metropolis. Comprehensive structural investments were realised in the city in connection with the nomination for the Capital of Culture in 2008. Particularly impressive in this respect are the cultural highlights – including the City Museum designed by the Copenhagen architectural office 3XN and the revitalised listed Albert Docks. However, in spite of all investments the city is a place of numerous distinctive urban ramshackle buildings.

The Gurkha Soldier in the main Lime Station is a still perceptible relic from the past British Empire.

The condition of the train of the regional Northern Electrics is still acceptable. The public transport running underground appears dilapidated compared to Hamburg. One feels partially transported back to Victorian times.

The modern business centre The One is located on the route between the large Lime Station and the banks of the River Mersey. Today the well-established chains of British retail trade are bustling on an urban conversion area of 17 hectares.

Typical street impressions from The One.

The banks of the River Mersey with its historical structural splendour and the modern terminal of the Mersey Ferry: “Ferry Cross the Mersey“.

The Albert Docks, built in 1846, constitute a tourist centrepiece of the city today – a world cultural heritage stoutly filled with new usages functioning as a tourist magnet.

The legendary Hamburg Club lives on in the Fab Four Museum in the Albert Docks, at least optically.

The uncertainties of the British weather god are generally known. Should there actually be a desire for tropical climes, it is not uncommon for tropical vegetation to be enjoyed in Liverpool and surroundings.

Eine Hafenstadt mit ruhmreicher Vergangenheit ringt um ihre Zukunft – Eindrücke einer städtebaulichen Exkursion nach Liverpool

Liverpool war im 19. Jahrhundert die Handelsmetropole der Welt. In den Glanzzeiten wurden hier 40% des Welthandels abgewickelt. Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts setzte der wirtschaftliche und auch städtebauliche Niedergang der ehemals stolzen Handelsmetropole ein. Im Zusammenhang mit der Ernennung zur Kulturhauptstadt im Jahr 2008 wurden umfangreiche bauliche Investitionen in der Stadt realisiert. Besonders beeindruckend sind hierbei kulturelle Highlights – u. a. das Stadtmuseum von dem Kopenhagener Architekturbüro 3XN und die mit neuem Leben gefüllten denkmalgeschützten Albertdocks. Die Stadt ist aber trotz aller Investitionen ein Ort zahlreicher markanter städtebaulicher Brüche.

Der Gurkha Soldat im zentralen Bahnhof Lime Station ist ein noch erlebbares Relikt des vergangenen britischen Empires.

Der Zustand des Zuges der regionalen Northern Electrics ist noch akzeptabel. Das im Zentrum unter der Erde verlaufende Nahverkehrsnetz wirkt im Vergleich zu Hamburg marode. Teilweise fühlt man sich in viktorianische Zeiten zurückversetzt.

Das moderne Geschäftszentrum The One liegt auf dem Wege zwischen dem großen Bahnhof Lime Station und dem Ufer des River Mersey. Auf einer städtebaulichen Konversionsfläche von 17ha tummeln sich heute die gängigen Ketten des britischen Einzelhandels.

Typische Straßenimpression aus The One.

Das Ufer des River Mersey mit seiner historischen baulichen Pracht und dem modernen Terminal der Mersey Schiffahrt. „Ferry Cross the Mersey.“

Die 1846 erbauten Albert Docks sind heute ein touristisches Herzstück der Stadt – ein Weltkulturerbe. prall gefüllt mit neuen Nutzungen, die als touristische Magneten funktionieren.

Im Museum der Fab Four in den Albert Docks lebt tatsächlich der legendäre Hamburger Starclub zumindest optisch weiter.

Die Unwägbarkeiten des britischen Wettergottes sind allgemein bekannt. Wer sich dann tatsächlich nach tropischen Gefilden sehnen sollte, der kann sich in Liverpool und seiner Umgebung gar nicht so selten an einer tropischen Vegetation erfreuen.